The Judges

Each category of award will be judged by separate panels of judges. Industry leaders, veterans and experts in their fields will make up the members of the judging panels. Appointed by the Mayor of Kuala Lumpur, each judge is given the mandate to evaluate the shortlisted nominees according to the established stringent judging criteria to determine the most worthy recipients of the awards.

Accommodation (5-Star) Category

Head Judge
YM Tunku Dato Seri Iskandar Tunku Abdullah

Group Executive Chairman of Melewar Group Berhad

Panel Judges
1. Mr. Boris Chang

MD of Global Holdings Sdn Bhd

2. Mr. Fahmy Mubarak

CEO of Getaway Global Marketing

3. Dato Ar Hajeedar Abdul Majid

Principal of Hajeedar & Associates S/B

4. Datuk Mumtaz Ali

Management Consultant of Dhesu Travel & Tours (M) S/B

view judges

Accommodation (4-Star) Category

Head Judge
Datin Jasmine Abdullah Heng

Vice Chairman of Dorsett Hospitality International

Panel Judges
1. Mr. Francis Alberto

General Manager of Best Western Petaling Jaya

2. Mr Shaharuddin Mohamad Saaid

Executive Director of Malaysian Association of Hotel Owners

3. Dato Megat Shahrul

CEO of FIC Hospitality Management

4. Mr Niza Ismail

Director, Operation Philea Mines Beach Resort / Vice Chairman, MAH Selangor Chapter

view judges

Accommodation (3-Star) Category

Head Judge
Mr Anthony Wong Kim Hooi

Managing Director of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa Hotel

Panel Judges
1. En Rosly Selamat

Group Marketing (Strategic Planning) of AOS Consultancy Services Sdn Bhd

2. Dr. Vinayaraj Mothiravally

Deputy Dean of Taylor’s University, School of Hospitality, Tourism and Culinary Arts

3. Mr Steve Woon

Senior Vice President, Sales and Marketing of Lexis Hotels and Resorts Sdn Bhd

4. Von Kok Leong

Director of Arkitek MAA Sdn Bhd

view judges

Accommodation (Budget) Category

Head Judge
Mr Kenneth Oh Soon Meng

KL Chapter Chairman, Malaysia Budget Hotel Assciation

Panel Judges
1. Mr. Lim Kam Thim

Director of RISM Hospitality Academy Sdn Bhd

2. Mr. Andrew Lee

CEO of Arch Kuala Lumpur Gallery

3. Datuk Theivandran Rajadurai

General Manager of De Sentral Hotel

4. Mr Syed Azhar bin Syed Nadzir

Director of Elang Wah Sdn Bhd

view judges

Dining Category

Head Judge
Ms. Julie Wong Siew Choo

Star Media Group Berhad

Panel Judges
1. Mr. Jean Michel Fraisse

Consultant / Trainer of HTC in Asia Sdn Bhd

2. Mr. Huza Radzi

Hospitality Trainer and Consultant of Huza Radzi Consultancy (M) Sdn Bhd

3. Mr. Julian Teoh

Food blogger

4. Mr. Lionel Lau

Wine & Spirit Expert, Educator and Presenter

5. Ms. Suzanne Lazaroo

Assistant Editor, Features Desk of Star Media Group Berhad

view judges

Shopping Category

Head Judge
Tan Sri Datuk Eddy Chen Lok Loi

President of PPKM (Malaysia Shopping Malls Association)

Panel Judges
1. Mr Chan Seong Aun

Immediate Past President of Pertubuhan Arkitek Malaysia (PAM)

2. Mr Tan Joon Kai

Hon. Secretary of Persatuan Pengurusan Kompleks (PPK) Malaysia

3. Mr Foo Gee Jen

Managing Director of CBRE, WTW Kuala Lumpur (head office)

4. Ms Honey Choo

District Manager of AIA Berhad

view judges

Tourist Attraction Category

Head Judge
En Azlan Hussain

President of Kuala Lumpur Tourism Association

Panel Judges
1. John Chan Weng Fatt

Vice President of Association of Tourism Training Institutes in Malaysia (ATTIM)

2. Saifuddin Bin Ahmad

Director of SNO Architects Sdn Bhd

3. Ms. Jagdip Jour Rai @ Jane

Executive Member (Special Projects) of Kuala Lumpur Tourist Guides’ Association

4. Janet Tee Siew Mooi

Curatorial Consultant (Freelance)

view judges

Medical Tourism Category

Head Judge
Dato’ Dr Jacob Thomas

President of The Association of Private Hospitals of Malaysia

Panel Judges
1. Ms. Sherene Azura Azli

CEO of Malaysia Healthcare Travel Council (MHTC)

2. Dr Ahmad Razid Bin Salleh

Director, Medical Practice Division of Ministry of Health Malaysia

3. Mr. Mohan Manthiry

CEO & Publisher of Informed (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd

view judges

Education Tourism Category

Head Judge
Emeritus Professor Dato’ Dr. Ibrahim Ahmad Bajunid

Malaysian Association of Educational Management and Leadership

Panel Judges
1. Mr. Ramanathan Perianan

Executive Committee of Education International Asia Pacific (EI)

2. Dato' Satinah Syed Salleh

Director of Melewar Learning Resources

3. Datuk Wan Yaacob Wan Ibrahim

Advisor Consultant of Tan Chong Education Services S/

view judges

Mayor’s Commendable Award for Front Liners Category

Head Judge
En Anwar bin Mohd Zain

Director of Culture, Arts. Tourism and Sports Department (DBKL)

Panel Judges
1. Mr Eddie Low


2. Ms. Norhaslinda binti Nordin

Deputy Director of DBKL Corporate Planning Department

3. Dato' Sarjit Singh Sekhon

Associate Director of CRIT, in Tourism Hospitality and Food Studies of Taylor’s University

view judges

Mayor’s Commendable Award for Outstanding Contribution Category

Head Judge
Dato’ Ibrahim Yusoff

Executive Director of Socio-economic Development Department (DBKL)

Panel Judges
1. Dato’ Simon Fong

President of Malaysia Association of Amusement Theme Park and Family Attraction

2. Datuk Seri Michael Yam

CEO / Md of Impetus Alliance Advisors Sdn Bhd

3. Datuk Hashim Wahir

CEO of KLCC Property Holdings Berhad

view judges

Official Award Partners

Shangri-La Hotel
Royal Selangor
KL Hop On Hop Off
ARCH Kuala Lumpur City Gallery
Perfect Magic